Hush Puppies

When I was a young young kid I remember my grandmother keeping a diary. She never kept it private because there was nothing in it to keep private. My guess is that she may have kept something that only was for her to see. But, the one that she would have on her nightstand was public knowledge. It had some amazing insight in it. Things like how many eggs the chickens laid that day. How she needs to make a couple batches of fudge for the women’s mixer down at Cole Memorial. The bathroom needs cleaned. But, she’ll wait till Wednesday to take care of that.

Besides the fudge that she would make which by the way was out of this fucking world. My other favorite was the hush puppies. If you are not familiar with hush puppies, then look it up. I’m talking about the fatty snacks and not the shoes. My mom gave me her recipe awhile ago. I was just looking through one of my cookbooks tonight and saw it and looked through it again. I think I’m going to try and make them this Holiday. I’ll have to tweak the recipe a bit because I’m not a fan of dairy milk. I’m hoping soy will be a good alternative.

Leave a Reply

