The Comedy of it All

If I remember correctly I was around 10, 11 or 12 when my grandparents took me and my cousin Trish to Washington DC. I was so amazed at the whole experience. I was pretty much dumbfounded and in awe of seeing the history of our country. It was a bus tour. One of the ones where you have have a bunch of old Long Island women (who I respect greatly) and a bunch of other “types” of people checking out the D.C. scene. The whole fucking trip made me so happy. It was one of the best experiences I’ve ever had. It actually rivaled Disney World. At my young age I had such a reverence for the country I lived in. I marveled at the Washington Monument. I loved walking up the steps of the Lincoln Memorial and reading the words of Lincoln transcribed on the wall. Even at a young age Arlington Cemetary made me humble. The bus took us to Mount Vernon and I saw the tomb of George Washington. The tour was an experience that I will never forget. The founding of the United States is scary and beautiful at best. A lot of people went through much heartbreak because of our foundation. Regardless of if they were Natives trying to protect their land or U.S. soliders defending it.

It pisses me off that the last six years I’ve been embarassed about the jackass who lived in the same White House that Washington, Jefferson, Lincoln, Kennedy, etc…. have lived in. It shouldn’t surprise me though. Our country makes an icon out of Paris Hilton. Why not make an icon out of the current celebrity who occupies the White House?  The United States of America has become a dumbed down nation. We are riding the short bus all across the world AND many people are proud of that. I thought that getting older I would see things change. However, I have never come across so many people who are so concerned with themselves. (i’m guilty of that as well) It reminds me of being in kindergarten. We are living in a world that still has not learned how to coexist in the playground. My entire childhood I was taught to share my toys. I was taught to be nice to everyone in my class. I was taught to respect my classmates. I became an adult and that didn’t matter anymore. As an adult it became all about me. It was ok to be selfish. It became ok to make fun of others who were different. It became ok to kill people in the name of God. It’s now ok to disrespect someone else because I don’t agree with them. Isn’t that just weird? Isn’t that just sort of unbelievable? It may sound stupid but I would like to grab a pair of scissors that have the orange handles on them and cut out a snowflake from paper. (recycled paper of course). I’d like to play kickball on the playground. I’d like to take a nap in the afternoon and then wake up and make more paper snowflakes. Remember how simple it was? Think about how simple it can be.

Leave a Reply

