The Power of Quiet

In my everyday life I usually wake up from my sleep, turn on the computer and television, make a bowl of miso soup and start working while the TV blares it’s way into my brain. As I live alone with the exception of my two cats I have allowed the television to be some sort of a companion. I also tend to not wake up till 10 or 11 in the morning and that is on a good day.

This morning is different. I’ve been awake since 6:30. I turned on the computer, boiled some hot water for my miso, signed on and was ready to start the day. But, today I didn’t turn on the television nor did I go directly to my work.

I’ve taken fondness for a social networking site called Zaadz. It’s run like many other sites of it’s kind but the focus is different. The members are more interested in a movement. A movement of social, spiritual, conscious and integral development. For me it’s a fun place online.

With the TV off I browsed profiles, read individuals thoughts, and listened to the quiet. The quiet consisted of silence as well as the sound of birds saying good morning. It has been a long time since I have actually listened to what the birds have to say. Sounds peaceful doesn’t it? Well, it was. However, even with all this listening I struggled to keep the television OFF. It was almost like trying not to grab for that next cigarette. How addicted I have become to media and television and noise. I have forgotten how to sit in silence without feeling uncomfortable.

My goal for each day is to bring quiet back into my life. I think I will be much better off for it.

Leave a Reply

