Blues From The Rainforest

About 10 years ago I was chatting with a person online. His name was Travis. I had no idea who he was. He told me he lived in Southern California, and if I remember correctly he was around my age. Late 20’s at the time. We would chat every other day or so about “life.” We were both Grateful Dead fans and we talked about the music of Jerry and The Dead often.

He introduced me to a record, album, cd, whatever we refer to them now called “Blues From the Rainforest” which was a collection of songs by Jerry Garcia and Merl Saunders. I was blown away by this music. It brought to me many emotions and I was surprised I had not heard of the music before.

I’ve been listening to this cd tonight and it had me thinking about not only how amazing this cd is. But, how amazing it is that someone I have never actually “met” could recommend something that would influence my life in such a positive way.

I chatted online with Travis for about 3 months. We shared many stories, love of music, and bullshit with each other. We at times got personal. Shared fears, hopes, dreams, laughter, ya know the online stuff that can sometimes scare the shit out of us face to face. But, because of one CD which includes about 45 minutes of incredible music we where able to connect with each other on a level that I will never be able to forget.

I hope Travis is doing well.

Leave a Reply

