My favorite snack

Fried Tofu

Ingredients (use vegan versions):

1 package extra firm tofu
3 tablespoons tamari or soy sauce
1/4 cup Red Star nutritional yeast
1 teaspoon seasoning (Tony Chacheres, Mrs Dash or mix your own combination)
2 tablespoons olive oil (or other veggie oil)

Directions:

Lightly grease a non-stick pan with oil.

Put tamari (soy sauce) in a bowl.

In another bowl, mix yeast and spices.

Slice tofu into 1/4 slices.  Dip tofu in the tamari and then in the yeast mixture.

Fry until golden, flip and brown the other side.  Add a bit of oil if necessary.

Serves: 2-3

Preparation time: 20 min

6 Responses to “My favorite snack”

  1. That sounds REALLY good. I”m going out now to get some yeast and tofu 🙂 PLEASE keep posting recipes – I need all of them that I can get!

  2. Even over “Hush Puppies.”

  3. You got me on that one Mom. That’s a tough call.

  4. johnherberger Says:

    Yum – that sounds so good! Only thing missing is a side of bacon ;P

  5. Apparently johnherber missed the point.

  6. Ooo I love fried Tofu! I can never do it like they do in the restaurants though. I’m gunna try this!

Leave a Reply

